Cryosphere Early Career Award

The Cryosphere Early Career Award (formerly the Cryosphere Young Investigator Award) was established by the Cryosphere Section in 2004 and is given to an outstanding junior scientist within 10 years (5 years, prior to 2015) of their Ph.D. for a significant contribution to cryospheric science and technology. This award is generously sponsored by the National Snow and Ice Data Center by providing travel support to the recipient.

For more information about award qualifications and nominating instructions for the Cryosphere Early Career Award, go to:


2018: Dr. Ludovic Brucker

2017: Dr. Jan Lenaerts

2016: Dr. John Paden

2015: Dr. Sarah Kapnick

2014: Dr. Ian Hewitt

2013: Dr. Matthias Huss

2012: Dr. Ian Eisenman

2011: Dr. Valentina Radic

2010: Dr. Hans-Peter Marshall

2009: Dr. Thomas Mölg

2008: Dr. Jessica Lundquist

2007: Dr. Ian Howat

2005: Dr. Alan Remple